Message sent from:

Early Years Foundation Stage

Welcome to Nursery


Provision for children aged between 0 and 5 years of age is known as the Early Years and Foundation Stage (EYFS). In a State Maintained School with a nursery, such as ours, we offer provision to children from the age of 3 years old. All 3-4 year olds are entitled to 15 hours free pre-school provision each week during term time.

In our nursery we offer this on a flexible basis so we can meet the needs of more of our families.

You can choose between:

  • Option A. 5 morning sessions. Monday-Friday 8.30-11.30am
  • Option B. 5 afternoon sessions. Monday-Friday 12.30-3.30pm
  • Option C. Monday and Tuesday 9.30am-3.30pm and Wednesday morning 8.30-11.30am
  • Option D. Wednesday afternoon 12.30-3.30pm and Thursday and Friday 8.30am-3.30pm

We have a maximum allowance of 13 places for Option C and Option D.

Please make a preference for the option which will suit your needs.

During the year Nursery hosts open evenings so new and prospective parents can meet staff and see how the Nursery works.

Welcome to Reception


3 Prime Areas

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development.
  • Personal, social and emotional  

4 Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Undertanding the world development
  • Expressive arts and design

Pupils get off to a good start in their learning in the caring Early Years Foundation Stage. 
Ofsted Report October 2012

Each area is then divided up into more specific areas of learning. For example, Literacy is divided into reading and writing skills. Maths is split into numbers and counting, calculating and shape, space and measure.

Whilst these areas are quite defined it is recognised that children do not develop in each area separately. With this in mind the nursery and reception classes are organised into specific areas called ‘areas of provision’.

These areas are planned for and are provided continually. A range of resources is organised within each area to facilitate children’s independence access. Most areas of provision provide varied opportunities for children to make progress across the six areas of learning. However, most areas will be particularly supportive of children’s learning within two or three key areas of learning.

All pupils…make good progress from many different starting points and achieve well.
Ofsted Report October 2012

Hit enter to search